Japanese and English Language Tutor Michael from Ardmore

Japanese and English Language Tutor Michael from Ardmore, PA
Name Michael S.
City Ardmore, PA, USA
Teaching Japanese, English
Native Language English
Originally From United States
Working With Youth, Adults
Levels I Teach Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Lessons Take Place My Home/Office, Learner's Home or Work, Public Place, Online
Hourly Rate C$30

I am a native English speaker, professional language teacher and professional Japanese-to-English translator, with several years of experience in language study and immersion and about three years of experience teaching second languages.

Education / Certificates
I studied Japanese in university for two years and have immersively studied the language for several years. I acquired JLPT N1 in 2015. I have a CELTA certificate for teaching ESL.
Professional Experience
2 years teaching English in Japan. 1 year of teaching English and Japanese privately.
Teaching Approach
With beginner students, I prefer a balance of intensive study (grammar exercises, etc.) and extensive exposure to texts, dialogues, stories, etc. For intermediate students and above, I generally dedicate about half of the class time to free-style production, either through conversation or writing assignments. I use numerous resources to draw content from and create a curriculum, including my own notes explaining important areas of the language. After every lesson, I send students personalized notes on what was covered that day. I also aim to prioritize each student's personal learning styles and language goals, and I try to adjust to them. I am more than happy to pursue any of the student's own curiosities, such as business language or media they are interested in.
Availability
Weekdays, midday and evenings, except for Thursday evening. I am available Sunday evenings as well.
Teaching Place(s)
I'm available for online lessons, usually via Skype or Zoom. I can also do in person lessons at my residence in west Toronto or at the Toronto Reference Library on select days. I may be able to accommodate meeting you elsewhere, but it will require an additional travel fee.
Location on the Map
Profile Details
Listed 2 years, Updated 2 years ago | Seen Active - 2 years ago
Reviews
0 reviews available.

Contact Michael