English Language Tutor Charles from Barrie

English Language Tutor Charles from Barrie, ON
Name Charles R.
City Barrie, ON
Teaching English
Native Language English
Originally From Canada
Working With Kids (6y+), Youth, Adults, Groups
Levels I Teach Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Lessons Take Place My Home/Office, Online
Hourly Rate C$50

Taught English as a Second Language in South Korea as part of the EPIK program, and thirteen years in Mexico, teaching at a college level

Education / Certificates

A.O.C.A. Ontario College of Art; B.A. University of Guelph; ESL diploma, Geo. Brown Community College

Professional Experience

EPIK program, elementary and middle school, S. Korea, 2006-2009; Mexico, Guadalajara, UNIVA, UNITEC, and TEC MILENIO, 2009-2012; retired at 65; returned to Canada 2019.

Teaching Approach

TPR (total physical response) is the most productive, tailored to the student's age, level of proficiency and so on. This leads to the development of projects, where the student interacts with either the whole class, or the teacher if one-on-one, in a role play. With young children, it takes the form of activities. (To be frank, I'm past the age to work with children, engaging in activities.)


I value my retirement time, not knowing how much more there is.

Teaching Place(s)

I value my retirement time, not knowing how much is left. Ideally, I would like to work with a motivated adult who needs to practice their speaking and writing. We can delve into grammar certainly, but that is better served at the time rather than formalizing it. I have kept a couple of very useful textbooks as well.

Location on the Map
Profile Details
Listed 2 years, Updated 2 years ago
0 reviews available.

Contact Charles