Italian Language Tutor Elizabeth from Trenton

Name Elizabeth G.
City Trenton, NJ, USA
Teaching Italian
Native Language English
Lessons Take Place Locally
Hourly Rate $40

I am located in Princeton, New Jersey. I majored in Italian in college and spent both semesters of my junior year studying in Bologna, Italy. I am currently completing my Masters in Italian Studies. I just returned to New Jersey after a full year of studying in Florence, Italy. In both Bologna and in Florence, I took courses that were taught in Italian and shared apartments with native Italians. I have experience tutoring Italian privately and at a community college.

Education / Certificates
Graduated from Vassar College with a BA in Italian -- 2012. Participated in summer programs in Siena in 2009 and in Lecce in 2010. Studied at the University of Bologna for both semesters of my junior year (2010-2011). Currently pursuing a Masters degree in Italian Studies through New York University -- expected January 2015. One year of study (August 2013-August 2014) in Florence, Italy.
Professional Experience
I have previously worked as a composition and Italian tutor at Mercer County Community College. I have also tutored Italian privately. My other teaching experience includes an Environmental Education and Animal Behavior Internship at the Philadelphia Zoo as well as volunteering as an ESL tutor at a local YWCA and working as an English teaching assistant at an Italian middle school, as a camp counselor at a nature preserve, and as a reading and writing tutor for elementary school children.
Teaching Approach
I tutor both children and adults, generally in beginning and beginning-intermediate Italian grammar and conversation. I focus on the goals of the students while also making sure to cover a variety of topics and concepts using different methods and activities. I believe that it is important to try to converse mainly in Italian during the session -- of course, at the comfort level of the student. I teach in a relaxed manner; my objective is for the student to feel completely unintimidated and for the learning experience to be enjoyable and effective.
Availability
I have a very flexible schedule.
Teaching Place(s)
The location is also flexible. I can tutor in my home, in the student's home, or in a public area such as a library, café, etc.
Location on the Map
Profile Details
Listed 6 years, Updated 6 years ago | Seen Active - 6 years ago
Reviews
0 reviews available.

Contact Elizabeth