Academic Subjects Tutor Brenden from Vancouver

Academic Subjects Tutor Brenden from Vancouver, BC
Name Brenden M.
City Vancouver, BC
Teaching Philosophy, Literature, Reading, Writing, Essay Writing, Study Skills, Humanities, Language Arts
Speaking English
Originally From Canada
Working With Youth, Adults, Groups
Levels I Teach Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Lessons Take Place Learner's Home or Work, Public Place, Online
Hourly Rate C$35

I am from BC and grew up in BC. I will always keep learning, growing, and sharing ideas. When I found a book on my parent's bookshelf in 2000 called "Philosophy: The Basic Issues." Yes!

Education / Certificates

I earned a B.A. with a major in philosophy and a minor in English at Vancouver Island University in Nanaimo. 

During six years at VIU, I also took many elective courses in sociology, linguistics, music, math, and physics. In my last couple years there, I had a special focus on Deep Ecology, looking in the 20th Century and with directed studies on the influence of Spinoza.

I also have an "unrelated" Audio Engineering and Production certification. However, music and art are very close to language and philosophical inclination.

Professional Experience

In grade school, my peers called me "a human dictionary" because sometimes I could derive synonyms rapidly at an instant.

However, dictionaries take dozens of authors decades to revise. Those of us who are wordy learn the majority of words we know in a brief spin around the sun.

So don't stop learning! If you are studying English or Philosophy, talking about ideas and having ideas is about exchanging ideas charitably and sharing knowledge and social effort.

Teaching Approach

I would be a good tutor for an undergrad student in philosophy, English, or writing courses.

I think if you were able to identify areas in which you wish to gain some insights or learn about, I am capable of helping you do a bit of research and frame the issues in a productive way. I like to chat out issues and work on things in an inclusive and ranging way, doing so with the skills and resources we have.


I'm available in the afternoons or evenings.

I think 1 or 1.5 hr sessions are best for this type of tutoring where you bring topics and we explore some ideas.

I'm available this 2023 Fall.

Teaching Place(s)
  • In person is OK.
  • Zoom or chat is OK.
  • Cafe or public library is OK.
Location on the Map
Profile Details
Listed 4 months, Updated 1 month ago | Seen Active - 1 week ago
0 reviews available.

Contact Brenden